Fifth Council 1984-1988

The Fifth Council: June 1984 - June 1988

Elections for members of the fifth Council were held on 26 May, 1984. Leslie Oldfield was re-elected as Mayor with an overwhelming majority.

Elected Members

Leslie Oldfield
Hermann Weber
Barry Browse
Michele Castagna
Jeff Huddlestone
Bob Kennedy
John King
Robert Liddle
Richard Lim
Harvey Millard
Rod Oliver
Lynne Peterkin
Di Shanahan

Changes within Council

4 June, 1984: Council elected Hermann Weber Deputy Mayor
29 April, 1985: Alderman Harvey Millard was appointed Acting Mayor during the absence of the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor (8 June to 4 July, 1985)
Resignations, 23 February, 1987: Aldermen Lynne Peterkin and Di Shanahan
By-election, 11 April, 1987: Aldermen Rod Oliver and Jeff Huddlestone
Resignation, 18 August, 1987: Council received the resignation of Alderman B. Browse and considered the appointment of a person to act as Alderman for the remainder of the current Aldermanic term. On 31 August, 1987, it was decided not to fill the vacant Alderman position



Bob Liddle was the first Aboriginal candidate to successfully contest a position of Alderman of a Northern Territory Council.

Council agreed in principle with the preparation of an official history of Alice Springs.

The Council supported the initiative of the Northern Territory Government in seeking to have the Alice Springs Airport upgraded to international standards.

Two hour parking restrictions were introduced in the CBD.

Sand was removed from the Todd River bed to reduce the impact of possible flooding.

The concept of Heritage Week and the fullest possible community involvement in it was supported by Council.



Council adopted a flag design created by Trevor Jellie after some slight modifications.

The Mayor represented the Council at the official hand over ceremony of Uluru (Ayers Rock – Mount Olga) National Park to the Traditional Owners on 26 October, 1985.

Mr Eugene Barry accepted the position of Senior Assistant Engineer, incorporating the position of Town Planning Officer.

After one month the position was to be upgraded to Deputy Town Engineer.

A Civic Reception was held to welcome up to two hundred guests on the occasion of the centenary of the Police presence in Central Australia.

Council sponsored the 1986 Central Australian Racing Club Mayoral Cup and agreed to sponsor replicas of the Mayoral Cup in following years.

Council supported the National Trust’s proposals for the Hartley Street School and approved a grant to assist in the restoration.



Council constituted the Alice Springs Bi-centennial Community Committee to plan, organise, and implement a programme of celebrations in Alice Springs during 1988.

His Holiness Pope John Paul II visited Alice Springs on 29 November, 1986. A large crowd was at Blatherskite Park to welcome the Pope.

Council granted permission for the Todd Mall Market Committee to organise four markets in Todd Mall during the months of September to December, 1986.

Further markets were approved in 1987. Council offered to contribute financially towards the cost of installing three phase power and exit signs to the Traeger Park Basketball Stadium.

Council accepted a grant from the Australian Bicentennial Authority National Heritage Program to purchase books, photographs, thesis, and maps to develop the Alice Springs Collection. Council became concerned about the safety of the River Red Gum in Parsons Street.

Signs were erected warning pedestrians about the possibility of falling branches.

Sacred Sites Authority was contacted to obtain advice on procedures required to undertake work to make the tree safer. Council approved the placing of named bricks in Todd Mall.

Council supported the running of the first Central Australian Masters Games held in Alice Springs during October, 1986.

Depot staff continue their assistance in the Masters Games to the present time by preparing ovals, painting Council facilities, closing roads, and in other ways.



The Easter 1988, flooding of the Todd River inundated extensive areas of the town near the river. Floodwaters entered Todd Mall.

About 300 people had to be evacuated from low-lying areas of town.

Council plays an important role at times such as this.

Depot staff are on call twenty-four hours a day and are responsible for closing the causeways as well as being involved in the clean-up afterwards.

The lookout on Anzac Hill was upgraded, including the construction of terrace walls and a stairway.

Council introduced annual Community Service Awards to recognise outstanding contributions made to the community by individuals and by organisations.

On 14 October 1987, Mayor Leslie Oldfield officially opened the new Todd Mall.

 James and Mark Todd, great great grandsons of Sir Charles Todd, were the guests of honour.

The Council purchased Christmas decorations for Todd Mall.

Council approved the donation of a perpetual trophy, plus an annual replica, to the Central Australian Eisteddfod Council.

Council assisted financially to the establishment of adequate facilities for the playing of hockey in Alice Springs, including design and construction of a sand filled synthetic playing surface, new clubrooms, and artificial lighting.

Council assisted the Australia Day Committee (Alice Springs) with their 1988 Australia Day celebrations by providing limited secretarial and administrative support, provision of meeting rooms, use of the town swimming pool, and assistance with the Flag Raising Ceremony to be held on Australia Day 1988.

Council approved a change of purpose of the Bicentennial Initiative Grant to finance the acquisition of paintings by Albert Namatjira to form part of a special Namatjira collection to be administered by the Araluen Centre.

Mrs Mona Byrnes was engaged to identify and arrange the purchase of suitable art works. Council published the book Alice Springs: Its History and the People Who Made It.

Council entered the book for an Australian Heritage Award.

The Municipal boundary was extended by virtue of a proclamation in March 1988, and Council decided to proceed with the formation of a Rural Advisory Committee.

In May, 1988, Council appointed Mrs Helen Petty to the position of Manager Administration and Finance.